Page 3

Bermuda's Leaders Part II - Service Providers & ILS Specialists 2016

BERMUDA’S LEADERS PART II Bermuda:Re+ILS is published by Newton Media Ltd. Kingfisher House, 21-23 Elmfield Road, BR1 1LT United Kingdom Email: info@newtonmedia.co.uk Director: Nicholas Lipinski Publisher: Martin Sellar Telephone: +44 203 301 8207 Email: msellar@newtonmedia.co.uk Managing editor: Wyn Jenkins Telephone: +44 203 301 8214 Email: wjenkins@newtonmedia.co.uk Deputy editor: Marc Jones Telephone: +44 203 301 8218 Email: mjones@newtonmedia.co.uk Journalist: Liana Jacob Telephone: +44 203 301 8209 Email: ljacob@newtonmedia.co.uk Head of research: Angharad Davies Telephone: +44 203 301 8228 Email: adavies@newtonmedia.co.uk Sub-editor: Ros Bromwich Marketing manager: James Lynn Email: jlynn@newtonmedia.co.uk Subscriptions manager: Adrian Tapping Email: atapping@newtonmedia.co.uk Advertising enquiries: +44 203 301 8207 Editorial enquiries: +44 203 301 8214 Production and design: Fisherman Creative ©Newton Media Limited 2016. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electrical, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the publisher. The views expressed in Bermuda:Re/ insurance+ILS are not necessarily those shared by the publisher, Newton Media Limited. Wishing to reflect the true nature of the industry, the editor has included articles from a number of sources, and the views expressed are those of the individual contributors. No responsibility or liability is accepted by Newton Media Limited for any loss to any person, legal or physical, as a result of any statement, fact or figure contained in Bermuda:Re/insurance+ILS. This publication is not a substitute for advice on a specific transaction. The publication of advertisements does not represent endorsement by the publisher. Bermuda:Re/insurance+ILS— ISSN 2056-4627 The unsung heroes underpinning Bermuda’s success A much-pondered question in Bermuda has always been: what is it that makes the Island so appealing to the global risk transfer industry? From captives to new reinsurers to insurance-linked securities (ILS), Bermuda has long dominated in terms of innovation and new companies and products being launched in this space. There are many answers to this, of course, including the regulatory environment. But one quality which can be too easily overlooked is Bermuda’s depth of talent and expertise in its service providers. Lawyers, accountants, consultants and bankers are often ignored in favour of the big name reinsurers and their leaders, who do indeed shape the industry they operate in. However, these advisers play a vital role in ensuring everything works behind the scenes on Bermuda—no innovation or new business model is possible without a bank account, a legal structure and a good accountant. That is why we have pulled together this special report, identifying some of the most important leaders in this field on Bermuda today—each playing his or her part in helping driving Bermuda forward and maintaining its position as a risk transfer hub globally. In addition to these advisers, by way of completing our reinsurance leaders report already published, in recognition of this growing segment of the Bermuda market, we have also profiled a number of ‘leaders’ within ILS firms or investment funds operating on the Island. We believe that it is because of these individuals that Bermuda punches well above its weight in terms of its economy and the quality of the people working there. A small island has come as far as it has in terms of being a global hub and centre of excellence for risk transfer because of the leadership of certain individuals along the way. With the help of our in-house editorial teams and the many experts and advisers we speak to daily, we have identified for both service providers and funds the most senior Bermuda-based executive within each company.  We have worked with individual companies on this and hope to expand the list next year as more suggestions are offered in the next 12 months. Long may their influence on Bermuda continue and long may Bermuda go from strength to strength. We hope you find this list interesting reading. Please contact us with suggestions for how to add to it and make it even more comprehensive next year. Wyn Jenkins, managing editor If you have a candidate you’d like to propose for consideration in our 2017 update, please contact Angharad Davies, head of research at: adavies@newtonmedia.co.uk 3 2016 Bermuda:Re/insurance+ILS


Bermuda's Leaders Part II - Service Providers & ILS Specialists 2016
To see the actual publication please follow the link above